How do I manually delete a holdings record in Alma?

Answer

Deleting Holdings Records When Withdrawing Item Records:

Item records attached to a holdings record MUST be deleted before a holdings record can be deleted:

  1. Perform a repository search
  2. Click Items from the ellipses
  3. Withdraw Items
    1. For one item:
      1. Click Withdraw from the ellipses of the item record to be deleted
      2. Click Confirm when the confirmation message appears
      3. When it is the last item on the holding record the "Last item(s) of Holdings record deleted or moved" action box appears
        1. Click on the radio button for "Delete Bibliographic record (unless other holdings are present)"
        2. Click Go
        3. A message will appear above the title saying the item has been successfully deleted
      4. Click Back (or < arrow)
    2. For more than one item:
      1. Click in the boxes next to the items to be delete
      2. Click Withdraw items                                                                                                                   
      3. Click Confirm when the the confirmation message appears
      4. When all items are deleted from a holdings record the "Last item(s) of Holdings record deleted or moved" action box appears
        1. Click on the radio button for "Delete Bibliographic record (unless other holdings are present)"
        2. Click Go
        3. A message will appear above the title saying the item has been successfully deleted
      5. Click Back (or < arrow)

 

Deleting a Holdings Record Without Associated Items From A List of Holdings:

  1. Perform a repository search
  2. Click Holdings
  3. Click in the box next to the holdings without inventory 
  4. Click Delete Holdings                                                                                                                                 
  5. Click Confirm when the confirmation message appears

 

Deleting a Holdings Record Without Associated Items From A List of Holdingin the MD Editor:

  1. Perform a repository search
  2. Click Holdings
  3. Click Edit from the ellipses of the holdings record without inventory
  4. Click Record Actions>Delete Record
  5. Click Yes when the confirmation message appears
  6. Click Close when the information message appears
  7. Click on the MD Editor (Alt+M) "always on" icon to leave the MD Editor
  • Last Updated Jul 28, 2021
  • Views 2029
  • Answered By Margaret McGee

FAQ Actions

Was this helpful? 1 5